Springe zum Hauptbereich
All State Museums in Schleswig-HolsteinAll State Museums in SH

History

The Carlshütte, founded in 1827 by the businessman Marcus Hartwig Holler (1796-1858), was the first industrial company in Schleswig and Holstein and the first ironworks in the Danish Nation State to which both duchies belonged.

The Ahlmann family has been increasingly involved in the Carlshütte business since 1883, initially under Johannes Ahlmann’s management. Following Julius Ahlmann’s death in 1931, his widow Käte assumed the Carlshütte business. She temporarily expanded the the ironworks to up to 2500 employees and was one of the most renowned female entrepreneurs in the 20th century.

On the occasion of her 70th birthday in 1960, she founded the Ornamental Cast Iron Museum Büdelsdorf in order to ensure that the collection compiled by her and her predecessors is preserved appropriately and is made accessible to the public.

Directly in the neighbourhood of the Carlshütte premises, the Danish architect Carl Storgård built a single-storey, flat-roofed four-winged complex which is laid out around an interior courtyard - and meets the requirements for the presentation of the ornamental cast iron collection very accurately.

The museum was opened in 1963. Käte Ahlmann was no longer privy to experiencing this. She passed away a few months earlier.

In 1981, the museum was initially taken over by the Rendsburg-Eckernförde district, later by the town Büdelsdorf.

The Ornamental Cast Iron Museum Büdelsdorf has belonged to the Schleswig State Museums Foundation since 2010. It is a branch of the Museum of Art and Cultural History Schloss Gottorf.

The museum was comprehensively modernised from 2011 to 2016 while the building was also refurbished energetically. Moreover, the original approaches made by the architect Storgård, which were lost within the scope of the first museum reconstruction at the end of the 1980s, could again be seen. With the conclusion of the construction work, the new set-up of the museum with a modern exhibition concept started.

The “new” Ornamental Cast Iron Museum was opened on July 1, 2016.

2017: the Ornamental Cast Iron Museum has been subjected to intense quality management and is bestowed with the “Certified museum” seal of quality.

Schleswig-Holstein State Museums
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen

Springe zum Hauptbereich
Alle Landesmuseen in Schleswig-HolsteinAlle Landesmuseen in SH

Zur Geschichte

Die 1827 von Kaufmann Marcus Hartwig Holler (1796-1858) gegründete Carlshütte war das erste Industrieunternehmen in Schleswig und Holstein und das erste Eisenwerk im dänischen Gesamtstaat, zu dem die beiden Herzogtümer gehörten.
 
Seit 1883 ist die Familie Ahlmann zunehmend in die Geschäfte der Carlshütte involviert, zunächst unter der Leitung von Johannes Ahlmann. Nach dem Tod von Julius Ahlmann 1931 übernimmt seine Witwe Käte die Geschäfte der Carlshütte. Sie baut das Eisenwerk zeitweise auf bis zu 2500 Mitarbeiter aus und zählt zu den bedeutendsten Unternehmerinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts.
 
Anlässlich ihres 70. Geburtstages im Jahr 1960 stiftet Käte Ahlmann das Eisenkunstguss Museum Büdelsdorf, damit die Sammlung, die sie und ihre Vorgänger zusammengetragen haben, angemessen aufbewahrt und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wird.
 
In direkter Nachbarschaft zum Carlshütten-Gelände erbaut der dänische Architekt Carl Storgård in den folgenden drei Jahren eine eingeschossige, flachgedeckte Vierflügelanlage, die um einen Binnenhof angelegt ist - und sehr genau den Bedürfnissen für die Präsentation der Eisenkunstguss-Sammlung entspricht.
 
1963 wird das Museum eröffnet. Käte Ahlmann darf das nicht mehr erleben. Sie stirbt wenige Monate zuvor.
 
1981 wird das Museum zunächst vom Kreis Rendsburg-Eckernförde übernommen, später von der Stadt Büdelsdorf.
 
Seit 2010 gehört das Eisenkunstguss Museum Büdelsdorf zur Stiftung Schleswig-Holsteinische Landesmuseen. Es ist eine Dependance des Museums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Schloss Gottorf.
 
Von 2011 bis 2016 wird das Museum grundlegend modernisiert. Im Zuge dessen wird das Gebäude unter anderem energetisch saniert. Zudem werden die ursprünglichen Ansätze des Architekten Storgård, die durch den ersten Museumsumbau Ende der 1980er Jahre verloren gegangen waren, wieder sichtbar. Mit dem Abschluss der Bauarbeiten beginnt die Neueinrichtung des Museums, mit einem modernen Ausstellungskonzept.
 
Am 1. Juli 2016 wird das „neue“ Eisenkunstguss Museum eröffnet.

2017: Das Eisenkunstguss Museum hat sich einem intensiven Qualitätsmanagement gestellt und wird mit dem Gütesiegel „Zertifiziertes Museum“ ausgezeichnet.

Landesmuseen Schleswig-Holstein
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen