Corona pandemic

When visiting our museums, please observe this information and these rules.

schliessen
Springe zum Hauptbereich
All State Museums in Schleswig-HolsteinAll State Museums in SH

Since 2010, Erik Seidel has worked on existential questions of human existence in his sculptural works. Inspired by the confrontation with Dante’s “Divine Comedy” and Goethe’s “Faust”, he creates works which take up topics such as death, transience and the destruction of the environment. Despite this fundamental apocalyptic mood – empty cranial cavities pile up as macabre columns, the entire globe burns out with a spectacular explosion – the artist occasionally lets us share his finely dosed humour. Everything is flowing, it is not yet too late, maybe we can still change course.

This artistic intervention in the Ornamental Cast Iron Museum is special because Erik Seidel creates his works using traditional cast iron technology. However, following casting, he subjects them to a special surface treatment which makes the items rust. Therefore, a tension-filled contrast between the contemporary rust-red sculptures and the “black” ornamental cast iron work from the 19th century arises in the permanent exhibition.

Erik Seidel (born in 1966) studied Art Education at Magdeburg University and Visual Arts at the Academy of Fine Arts in Dresden. Between 1997 and 1999, he added training as a stonemason and a stone carver to his repertoire. He has been represented in various individual and group exhibitions at galleries and art houses since 2005.

Sponsored by...

Schleswig-Holstein State Museums
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen

Springe zum Hauptbereich
Alle Landesmuseen in Schleswig-HolsteinAlle Landesmuseen in SH

Im Fluss

Erik Seidel. Eisenskulptur

29.05. - 04.10.2020

Erik Seidel beschäftigt sich seit 2010 in seinem bildhauerischen Werk mit existentiellen Fragen des Menschseins. Angeregt durch die Auseinandersetzung mit Dantes „Göttlicher Komödie“ und Goethes „Faust“ schafft er Arbeiten, die Themen wie Tod, Vergänglichkeit und die Zerstörung der Umwelt aufgreifen. Trotz dieser apokalyptischen Grundstimmung – leere Schädelhöhlen türmen sich zu makabren Säulen, der ganze Erdball verglüht in einer spektakulären Explosion – lässt der Künstler uns hier und da an seinem fein dosierten Humor teilhaben. Alles ist im Fluss, es ist noch nicht zu spät, wir können das Ruder vielleicht doch noch herumreißen.

Diese künstlerische Intervention im Eisenkunstguss Museum ist insofern besonders, als Erik Seidel seine Arbeiten in der traditionellen Technik des Eisengusses herstellt. Jedoch unterzieht er sie nach dem Guss einer speziellen Oberflächenbehandlung, welche die Objekte rosten lässt. Dadurch entsteht ein spannungsreicher Kontrast zwischen den rostroten zeitgenössischen Skulpturen und den „schwarzen“ Kunstgussarbeiten des 19. Jahrhunderts in der Dauerausstellung.

Erik Seidel (geb. 1966) hat Kunsterziehung an der Universität Magdeburg sowie Bildende Kunst an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Dresden studiert. In den Jahren 1997-1999 schloss er eine Ausbildung zum Steinmetz- und Steinbildhauer an. Seit 2005 war er mit verschiedenen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in Galerien und Kunsthäusern vertreten.

Gefördert von...

Landesmuseen Schleswig-Holstein
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen